Missouri DUI penalties: What you should know

 

If you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol in Missouri, you may face steep penalties depending on whether you have former convictions, as well as how intoxicated you are at the time of your arrest. It is crucial that you understand how the process works so that you can maximize the outcome of your case.

According to the Missouri Department of Revenue, the first time you are convicted for driving with an excessive blood alcohol content that is over the legal limit of 0.08 percent, you may get your driver’s license suspended for 90 days. However, you may be eligible to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle if you have no former convictions.  If you are convicted a second time, you risk losing your license for five years with only limited driving privileges. Furthermore, three convictions lead to losing a driver’s license for 10 years.

Not only is a DUI processed as a criminal offense, but also as an administrative offense. The arresting officer will complete documents to the Department of Revenue to initiate the charges. From there, you have 15 days to request an administrative hearing. At the hearing, which may be completed over the phone, the arresting officer may speak, or the case may be read off his/her records. The official presiding over the case will determine whether you are eligible for restricted driving privileges or what type of license revocation you will face depending on your criminal history.

This information is intended to educate and should not be taken as legal advice.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information