August 2018 Archives

Can I lose my license for a DWI arrest?

If Missouri law enforcement officers arrest you for allegedly driving while intoxicated and/or under the influence of drugs, this alleged criminal offense also constitutes a secondary civil administrative offense. Under Section 302 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, the administrative sanction for this offense is a possible 90-day suspension of your driver's license or a possible one-year revocation.

Another DUI? Your employer may be looking for ways to fire you.

Are you facing a second or possibly third DUI charge in Missouri? Let's set aside the cost of fines, court costs and legal fees to discuss the true cost of a multiple conviction. For most people, keeping their jobs and careers intact will far outweigh the short-term cost of scraping together enough credit or savings to pay the financial cost. More than ever, in today's 24-hour news cycle, employers are growing increasingly concerned about holding onto employees whom they feel hurt their image in the community. No matter how many years it's been between your last DUI, it is more important than ever to fight the charges.

Are roadside breath tests really accurate?

If you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer in Missouri, you may be asked to submit to a roadside breath test. These devices are used to determine whether you are driving with a blood alcohol content level that is over the legal limit of 0.08 percent. The problem lies in the fact that many of these breath test devices do not always yield accurate results. Inflated results could cause you to be wrongfully charged and potentially convicted of a DUI.